[_] register.com
Rob W
rob at robbiew.co.uk
Mon Nov 5 19:42:18 GMT 2001
uk2.net have been doing the same..
you do a whois on it one day, look back another and the next time you look
its been registered..
strange eh?
-Rob W
----- Original Message -----
From: "mr wyse" <wyse99 at yahoo.com>
To: <underscore at under-score.org.uk>
Sent: Monday, November 05, 2001 3:09 PM
Subject: Re: [_] register.com
> more complete shits not to use on net, or just paranoia?
>
> ever cursed your damn luck that a domain name you'd been
> thinking of getting suddenly gets bought by someone else?
> so have we at work - often. but didn't think anything of it
> until last week when we looked at register.com to see if
> quite a nice one (but a fairly obscure word) had gone, and
> it hadn't. we checked again on friday and it was still
> there. imagine our suprise when we go back today and find
> out that it had been brought on the saturday, through
> register.com, hosted on register.com and with a set of
> false details. hmmmm.
>
> doesn't seem to go along with their 'Evidence of
> Registration and Use in Bad Faith' policy....
>
> any similar experiences that seem a little to
> co-incidental, or indeed any possible precautions for this
> sort of thing?
>
> a
>
> __________________________________________________
> Do You Yahoo!?
> Everything you'll ever need on one web page from News and Sport to Email
and Music Charts
> http://uk.my.yahoo.com
>
> --
> underscore_ list info/archive -> http://www.under-score.org.uk
you do a whois on it one day, look back another and the next time you look
its been registered..
strange eh?
-Rob W
----- Original Message -----
From: "mr wyse" <wyse99 at yahoo.com>
To: <underscore at under-score.org.uk>
Sent: Monday, November 05, 2001 3:09 PM
Subject: Re: [_] register.com
> more complete shits not to use on net, or just paranoia?
>
> ever cursed your damn luck that a domain name you'd been
> thinking of getting suddenly gets bought by someone else?
> so have we at work - often. but didn't think anything of it
> until last week when we looked at register.com to see if
> quite a nice one (but a fairly obscure word) had gone, and
> it hadn't. we checked again on friday and it was still
> there. imagine our suprise when we go back today and find
> out that it had been brought on the saturday, through
> register.com, hosted on register.com and with a set of
> false details. hmmmm.
>
> doesn't seem to go along with their 'Evidence of
> Registration and Use in Bad Faith' policy....
>
> any similar experiences that seem a little to
> co-incidental, or indeed any possible precautions for this
> sort of thing?
>
> a
>
> __________________________________________________
> Do You Yahoo!?
> Everything you'll ever need on one web page from News and Sport to Email
and Music Charts
> http://uk.my.yahoo.com
>
> --
> underscore_ list info/archive -> http://www.under-score.org.uk