More information about the Underscore mailing list

[_] register.com

Richard Davey r.davey at t-minus10.co.uk
Mon Nov 5 15:17:07 GMT 2001

Use a "whois" service from a domain name registration company and you're
asking for trouble.

Why didn't you just go to the relevant NICs site directly? (www.nic.uk for
.uk domains) or www.nsiregistry.com (for .coms etc) - that way you know
you're not going to be scammed.

Cheers,

Rich
--
T-Minus 10 Limited
Castlemead, Bristol, BS1 3AG
Tel: 0117 9175030

----- Original Message -----
From: "mr wyse" <wyse99 at yahoo.com>
To: <underscore at under-score.org.uk>
Sent: Monday, November 05, 2001 3:09 PM
Subject: Re: [_] register.com



> more complete shits not to use on net, or just paranoia?
>
> ever cursed your damn luck that a domain name you'd been
> thinking of getting suddenly gets bought by someone else?
> so have we at work - often. but didn't think anything of it
> until last week when we looked at register.com to see if
> quite a nice one (but a fairly obscure word) had gone, and
> it hadn't. we checked again on friday and it was still
> there. imagine our suprise when we go back today and find
> out that it had been brought on the saturday, through
> register.com, hosted on register.com and with a set of
> false details. hmmmm.
>
> doesn't seem to go along with their 'Evidence of
> Registration and Use in Bad Faith' policy....
>
> any similar experiences that seem a little to
> co-incidental, or indeed any possible precautions for this
> sort of thing?
>
> a
>
> __________________________________________________
> Do You Yahoo!?
> Everything you'll ever need on one web page from News and Sport to Email
and Music Charts

> http://uk.my.yahoo.com
>
> --
> underscore_ list info/archive -> http://www.under-score.org.uk
>